Help Needed - Loss of HMS Sheffield

Discussion in 'History' started by Sparkers27, May 13, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello, I am a Masters student at the University of Salford and I'm currently undertaking a study of HMS Sheffield, under the supervision of Dr Eric Grove.

My purpose of the study is to investigate into the loss of HMS Sheffield, specifically to 'set the record' straight regarding the reasons for the loss: how it happened and why it happened. I want to deal with the controversies that surround the loss as discovered through comparing newspaper articles, books, and testimonies of servicemen.
    Such controversies range from such matters as problems with the radar to myths as the composition of the hull being an issue.

What would be invaluable is to have first-hand accounts, eyewitness testimonies, and expert opinion from servicemen of the time. I have some reminisces from "The Falklands War: A Day to Day Account from Invasion to Victory" but would really find it useful to have a broader and more varied account from people who served on the vessel.

As such, I would be very grateful if someone could offer some of their time to help in my investigation, whether it be to provide thoughts on how the loss of HMS Sheffield has been reported in the past, thoughts on the conclusions of the MOD report (such as whether the Exocet was thought to have exploded or responses to the attack), and personal reminisces of what happened before and after the attack. Or anything that they would like to contribute.

If you can help, please send me a private message or contact me on [email protected].
    I would be happy to discuss my study further, if you have any questions.
    I can accept any contribution as late as mid-June.

Thank you for your help.
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator