Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by emmy_lou, Mar 17, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello everyone!
    I am new to the navy and would like some advice.
    I finished college last summer and since then I have been volunteering as there is no jobs in North Norfolk! I have told them I would like to join as a Warfare Officer and I have my RT on the 29th. I was wondering if anyone can give me any pointers on the test or anything they may think relevant.
    Much Appreciated. :)

P.S. I assume the RT will be the same for both ratings and officers?
  2. Welcome,

The RT is the same, yes. It's perhaps worth doing some practise psychometric tests online as well as the examples they give you in the booklet. There's nothing too demanding, however, and for me it was more a case of 'keeping myself sharp' than actually learning anything new (I'm also going for Warfare, off to the AIB in a week).

Best of luck!
  3. Hiya.
    Yeh I thought it would be.. just needed to get my mind straight! :)
    I have got some books from the library, aswell as doing online tests so I guess its practise makes perfect. Will dig out my GCSE Physics and Maths to remind myself for numeracy and mechanical comprehension.
  4. Hi Emmy,

To be honest, best stuff I found was all online, plus the practice booklet that my AFCO gave me.

Best of luck...!
  5. If I were you I'd think of a better opening gambit than "I couldn't get a job so I'm joining the RN". Contrary to popular belief, Her Majesty's Royal Navy isn't an employment agency. People who are in it "for a job" don't get the most out of it and either leave or become disasters to manage.
  6. Please read posts properly before making such comments.