Hello to everyone....

Discussion in 'The Corps' started by Jarhead, Apr 3, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Before i intrude too much on your parade, lemme introduce myself.

I'm a Jarhead (AKA, American Bootneck), and i came here because i've always been interested in my British cousins, mostly due to my Grandmother being English... she was born and raised in Chorely, UK, married my Grandfather in 1942, and died 2 years ago.

I served 3 years and out on a Medical, in the USMC. Did my time at MCSF BN. FAST CO. PAC, in Vallejo, Ca. and have been out now since 1991.

So far, things look... close, to me. By that, there's enough echo of the Marines i'm used to that its comfortable to me here. (That and i play WOW on a Australian server makes some of the lingo understandable).

To everyone, Hello!

2. Welcome Jarhead.
    I'm a nurse, Australian, live in UK and got my tattoo in Chorley, so you should understand the lingo just fine :) Just go with the flow and give as much as you get. It's a good bunch here.

3. Welcome Jarhead

4. Hi Jarhead, nice to meet you.
    Make yourself at home :)

5. Hi Jarhead,

Out of interest, why do they call you guys "Jarheads"?

6. Well, your beer's safe from me... can't stand warm beer. ugh.

Although my Grandfather drinks warm beer to this day. <shrug>

7. corresponding, why are the Royal Marines called Bootnecks?

8. Same as US Marines are called Leathernecks.

9. Oh ferk not another seppo. Vallejo - so a Hollywood Marine, family originated in Chorley which is on the edge of the known world, out on a medical and doesn't drink proper beer. You have got absolutely nothing going for you mate; so you should fit in here quite well. Pull up a sand-bag and make yourself at home.

Just remember - The favorite drink in the USA is water. When it's hot they call it coffee and when it's cold they call it beer.

RM