Hello all!

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by BlackDwarf, Jun 30, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey guys!

Start with a little bit of an intro, my name is James and I currently work in IT. I've decided IT as a hobby and a career perhaps isn't for me, so I'm looking to joing the RN. Left college after 1 year so I can't join at officer level, but i'm looking to be a ET(WE), Comms Tech or C&ISS, I haven't quite decided yet, and haven't been to the recruitment office to discuss it further. Any ideas would be great :D

I'm a bit of the unfit side and am carrying some excess weight, but I'm bloody determined to get in, so a strict excercise and nutrition regime await me! How tough is 1st Phase these days?

Cheers guys, and look forward to keep posting here, you all seem like a nice bunch :)

2. Phase 1 can be tough in two ways, physically and mentally.

It will be physically tough if you're unfit so try and get in loads of exercise before you go. You will be expected to run a mile and a half in 10min 30s (male under 25 years), swim and tread water whilst wearing overalls, and be able to crack out a few press ups and sit ups amongst other things. The fitter you are before you go the easier it will be.

It can be tough mentally if you don't like being shouted or sworn at, and if you're the sort of person who makes things difficult for themselves by being untidy or late. There will be days when you're tired but you still haven't done your washing or ironing and you've got to be up at 6am again. You may feel lonely, anxious or homesick. You may resent being told to do things that strike you as pointless such as running everywhere or kit inspections.

The point is you can make it tougher than it is by having the wrong approach to the situation.

Best thing to do is listen to the instructors and act on what is said.