Helllo - Advice please

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Kevo, Apr 17, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. First off all, sorry if any of these questions have been answered before, but they're generally more oppinion based as im in two minds - which i'm sure isn't a good thing entering the Royal Navy.

At the moment i'm currently studying for my A-Levels (2nd year). For my AS (First Year) I got a C (English), D (Geography) and 2 E's (Economics and General Studies). If i'm tottally honest I don't see those grades improving for my A-Level. So first thing first, do you think this is officer standard? I do have 10 GCSE's all A-C standard, majority being C's but with 1 A and 3 B's. Just 6 form wasn't my thing.

I intend to be an officer but im passionate about the Navy so might give a Rating a shot if i fail for officer. Now this is where im not sure. I dont want 2 years of A-levels to goto waste, so not sure to resit the officer interview process again in another 12 months or try a rating out. No offence to Ratings out there, that is.

I am confident, i just like to plan for anything that can go wrong and have a plan b, thats all.

As for my other questions. Warfare officer, is the role i was looking at. Submarine too - Not too sure why but fascinated by submarines more than Ships, this a good choice - regarding the role too? Is the position competitive? I hear submarines don't port as much so i wont get to see much as the world compared to ships; but i hear this is down to the ratio of ships compared to submarines. In other words, means ships seem to port more as there are more of them compared to submarines.

Sorry for the lenghtly post and i've probably forgot something too so may post up again if I do.