Graduate joining as a rating?

I might be jumping the gun a bit as I haven't graduated yet, I have queries about the suitability of my medical history and I know I have a bit of work to do on my fitness but...

I'm currently in uni and I'm considering joining the Navy after I graduate. I know I want to apply to serve on submarines and having looked at the details of the available roles on the RN website and this forum I'm considering CIS (SM).

My initial thought was that being a graduate with a 4 year integrated Bachelor's and Master's degree, I would be expected to become an officer but (as my degree is not in Engineering) my choice would be between Warfare Officer and Logistics Officer. From reading the forum it seems that if I went with Logistics I wouldn't actually spend all that much time on boats or even at sea at all, which for me would defeat the object of signing up in the first place.

Comparing the official (and unofficial) job descriptions for Warfare Officer with those for CIS, the former inspires a reaction of 'oh, well, I guess I could do that', while I am genuinely excited by the prospect of the latter job.

I'm also not sure if I have a personality suited to becoming an officer (although I suppose the tests and training I'd go through to get there would clear up the issue one way or another), but really I'm considering the rating route because it's genuinely the Navy job I'd most like to do.

Is this a common situation people find themselves in? Will the recruitment people try to convince me to go for officer? Should I go for CIS (SM) or pick an officer role? Will my (over)qualification make any kind of difference once I'm actually on the job as a rating - either positive or negative?

Any other thoughts or advice on the topic welcome.