Good Evening - RM Hopeful

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Scientia_potentia_est, Jan 25, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Good Evening,

I thought I'd join the forum, to hopefully ask many questions and learn from others.

I'm currently 20 and stuck in a dead-end office job, spending each day tapping away on the computer listening to men complain about their £30,000+ a year salary, wondering what else I could be doing, this has reignited my desire to join the armed forces, something I have wanted to do from being a young boy.

I had two careers in mind, either an Intelligence Operative in the Army, or a Royal Marines Commando, but I have since found out I am barred for entry with the former, due to my colour vision deficiency.

It won’t be until October that I will be ready to sign the dotted line, because I am currently studying my second Open University course, aiming to attain a Certificate of Higher Education in Humanities.

What has drawn to the military is a career that will allow me to work to the best of my capabilities, give me great opportunities to experience things I wouldn’t as civilian, and give me some invaluable life skills, oh and hopefully keep me out of an office full time.
    That’s enough about me anyway.

Oh and if anyone is wondering, yes I am the user ‘Office_Monkey’ over on ARRSE.

2. I feel your pain...as you can guess from the name...I too was an office junkie...I used to load up the RN homepage EVERY morning and one day I thought if I don't do it now I never will, and walked! Good times, about to sit my FATs next week for Pilot, and not looked back once...Good luck!