going in as AET but no experience in engineering ect at all

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by smithy12, Sep 10, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. im going in as an AET, going to raleigh 2nd nov but i have no experience at all in engineering or anything to do with the AET side of things this is partially why i chose this as it will be new and exciting for me and something for me to put 100% into as a fresh challenge. However will having no experience/idea prove a serious disadvantage in phase 2?
    any ideas/info welcome
    cheers

2. You should have no problems oppo. Learn as you go along.Pay attention to the instructors. youll be fine Ps The only experience i had before joining .Was that of a Paperboy :thumright:

3. Smithy, panic not. All you need to know you will be taught. All you WANT to know, you'll have to find out for yourself.....
    Good luck - keeping smiling and don't let the b#stards get you down.
    DE

4. cheers for the info, im a happy man now my mind is at rest, bring on raleigh!

5. Re: going in as AET but no experience in engineering ect at

I joined in 1963 a few months before my 18th birthday. In civie street I was a trainee manager for a grocery chain. reason I joined was to get trained as a sparkie and it worked wonderfully well. At each stage of promotion another course was attended (sometimes I even understood what was being taught) and my knowledge grew. At the end of my time I left and if I had needed it could have applied for electrician status as the training was acceptable and transferable to civilian employment.
    While in I also attended day release at the local college of knowledge (all paid for by HM Queen and Co)