General Medical Assistant

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by dean5778, Nov 21, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello I’m wondering if anyone can help me. I’m currently at uni doing my degree in Adult Nursing. I’m only in my first year, so been there 4 months nearly. It’s going well but I’m very bored. I’m not being stimulated enough.
    I looked into the Royal Navy last year as a Naval Nurse, and was advised to go ahead with my degree, get some experience and then come back to them. But I just can’t wait that amount of time. I went back on the site, saw the medical assistant job, and went to my career office and I now have an interview with them on the 1st of December. I’m really looking forward to it. I’ve been practicing my psychometric tests over and over and I’m pretty confident I’ll pass. I’m also a pretty active person in general and go to the gym, swim, and do plenty of cardio, so the physical side of the interview I’m not phased by.
    What I do want to know and I’ve looked up and down this forum site for more info on this career role, is how long does it take from interview to Raleigh? I mean I know some roles take about a year before you begin. But because the nature of the role I want to do, I’m imagining it’s in high demand because of the conflicts in Afghanistan etc... Do you think it would happen pretty quickly in me getting in, or will I be waiting around for absolutely ages? I’ve not quit uni yet, I don’t want to until I get the letter giving me the date for Raleigh, so then I can concentrate on my fitness 100%.
    Also any advice in general about the role I wish to pursue would be good to hear from anyone who’s doing the same as what I want?
    Thanks
    Dean

2. Take the adviceyou have been given. Get the degree and join as an officer.