Future missiles

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by nuts_mcauliff, Jul 18, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Ok. I'm by no means an expert being TA but wouldn't it make sense for the Navy to go for Aster 15 to support the Type 45 on the FSC / C1 Type 23/23 succesor. Wouldn't this lead to savings ease of logistics etc
    Nuts

2. These are utterly pointless projects… expensive vanity developments of the worst kind.

You are indeed right. ASTER 15 will do this job perfectly and is a world leader in it's class.

The anti surface capabilty can be done perfectly well with HELLFIRE and PENGUIN. Both missiles are in service and world class.

• Like Like x 1
  3. The problem being, if we keep the Aster for the T22/23 replacements it will be so out of date by the time the hulls are ready.

They have not even been looked at yet. Expect it to be at least 2020 or later before new hulls might appear in the current climate.

We would then have fallen into the same old process of new ships with old equipment as we have in the past.

Trying to balance the two is the trick

4. Nope, ASTER is cutting edge stuff and can be updated. In 2020 it will still be an outstandingly capable SAM and there is no intention of replacing it in the T45's.

Same with HELLFIRE and PENGUIN, both class leading missiles with a sound history of capability developments.

THis new 'el cheapo' SAM that MDBA want's to develop is little to do with what we actually need, and lots to do with selling into an export market.

5. With O-S on this. The US have kept the basic SM1/2 missile viable for decades, spending most of the money on either the CS or the bit that goes bang.

AIUI CAMM is some sort of amalgam of all the "best" features of MBDA current SAM portfolio, nailed together to avoid the £1m a pop ASTER.

6. Forgot to say but the articles from Janes.

Nuts