FTRS

Discussion in 'Current Affairs' started by shifty, Mar 21, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi All,

anyone wanna jump on this bandwagon.

I believe that this deserves its very own section.

I have been serving on FTRS contract now for quite a few years and strongly believe that there are huge legal issues.

Examples.....TOR's working hours...PAY....areas of responsibility etc.

I wont even mention the pension issue and contract renewal.

Any takers...

2. Probably true but i'm guessing doing this was your decision. There was a time when we did the SSS as it was known then and didn't quibble too much about such issues.

3. You see...it is difficult to put the full details in here. YES I signed a contract.

BUT, I didnt bloody sign one that was meant ot change every couple of months.

Theres a much bigger picture here....

4. Purple_twiglet

Purple_twiglet War Hero Moderator

Before everyone jumps in blaming the RNR here - could you clarify if you are RNR or ex-regular? The overwhelming majority of FTRS post holders are ex-reg.

5. If you don't like it on FTRS then why not re-join properly ?

6. Ex Regular..and for information I served 'properly' as someone puts it for 24 years

7. I applied to join again properly and I was told 'There are no vacancies'

This then raises the question 'whos job am I doing if these vacancies do not exist.

One of my points exactly.

8. And in fact...last year two jobs were combined and I am now doing 2 jobs

Another point

And.....I get paid substantially less than a 'regular' for doing...in some cases far more work.

9. And

an awful lot of the time I have to do someone elses job too...because we just cannot get reliefs for those on draft

Yet....'there are no vacancies' for me full time.