Former cadets

During my time in the RN and since leaving time done, I have volunteered with various cadet forces across the UK, caused by postings and jobs since leaving. I now have two former cadets that are relatively young, 18 and 22 that have started as CFAVs, they couldn't make into the RN for medical reasons however and are now volunteering to teach cadets. I am immensely proud of all the cadets I have known over the years and all that they have achieved, it's great that these former cadets of mine are now friends that I volunteer with. To all those former cadets out there, it's great to give something back if you can.

Proud veteran submariner and current CFAV.

Sent from my F5321 using Tapatalk

huwshpis

Lantern Swinger
Couldn't agree more @BARNEYRNSM. I used to instruct at a Cadet Unit as a volunteer when I was a student, became the Jimmy of my local one when in my first job and have done odd guest spots from time to time since. Now that I'm in private practice it's become very difficult to find the time - I sometimes don't knock off until 0100 after an 0800 start. Anyone who can give their time to a Cadet unit should do so - you might inspire a youngster into a rewarding career or the ultimate achievement, a rewarding career in the RN.

I am not a volunteer at the local cadet unit but as part of the RNA we sponsor an local cadet to go on the Royalist each year, hold a joint AFD stall with all the money going to them. We sponsor a trophy at their annual presentation and have been officially affiliated to them along with the local RBL. They are a great unit however have no ex RN as staff so we help where we can.

To be honest all my spare time is with the RNA and the cadets know if they needed help they could call.