Fleet Air Arm Military Aviation Academy question

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by FAAWanabee, May 15, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi I'm pretty new here so if any of these questions have been answered (which I don't think they have) please just point me in the right direction and cut me some slack! ;)
    I'm 15 and currently coming to the end of year 10, so I'm studying my options for 6th form and my future career. I'm dead set on being a Naval Pilot that's for sure, and will be making sure that I have the grades and preparation to stand the best chance in doing so (I'll save you the "I've wanted to be a Pilot all my life" story). But my problem is how I'm actually going to get to the point of application. Reading up, I have found out about the 6th form and subsequent university scholarship that I can apply for. I have decided that I will definitely apply for the 6th form scholarship but its the university one that's troubling me.
    Initially reading up on it, it sounds very good, getting a foundation degree for your achievement of "Wings" alone and the opportunity to further study for an Honours is very enticing stuff; not to mention the fact that I'll be able to join at 18 and through the training pipeline by 21-22 giving me an early start to my career. But the concerns I have with it and that I hope you may be able to help me with is the relevance of the degree (whether it's relevant and substantial outside the military world) and whether this whole scheme is too good to be true and isn't as good as it sounds.