Fleet Air Arm Careers

Discussion in 'The Fleet Air Arm' started by Sierra_Hotel, Feb 24, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi All,
    Another Newbie here. :neutral:
    I am looking at joing the Fleet Air Arm.
    I am still unsure as to whether I will fit the perameters, being already 6'1" and growing. I know this could be too big for jets, but would this stop me flying helicopters? Ideally I would like to fly whirlybirds, although I understand this cannot be guarenteed (unless I join the Army air corps, but lets not go there).
    I am planning to join after I have been to university doing Aeronautical Engineering, so are there any benefits for graduate pilots as in the other services?
    Apologies if this question has already been asked lots.
    Thanks very much
    SH :smile:

2. With an aeronautical engineering degree you would be wasted as a pilot though I do see the attractions. many moons ago(probably before you were born) the FAA did have maintenance test pilots. these were Air Engineering Officers who were also pilots. Whether this route is still available or not I don't know.

3. I have thought about this, but Air Engineer Officers seem to be desk officers. I only wish to do an Aero degree so that in the event that it is not possible to get into the Pilot side of the aviation industry I still have somewhere to go as it were.
    SH

4. chieftiff

chieftiff War Hero Moderator