fittness and elegibility

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by chaser12, Apr 7, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hey all! i am currently a watersports instructor part time and a professional waterskier, my fitness level is way higher than average however i have bad posture and my knees click loudly on occasion- i have a very slight limp when my muscles are relaxed by alcahol. also my right thumb has very slight movement limitations but of course i can still do everyting as normal.

I want to enter the RN and go straight for seamanship i have alot of experience driving powerboats in the ocean and carry two liscences one enables me to operate a maximum of 99 tons in european waters. I have lived by the coast all my life and am very hardy when it comes to bad weather.

My point is could i go far within the RN? do you think i would fail the medical with those points i outlined at the start of this post? i can allready run the nesecarry treadmill time 11.45 mins- 2.5km on wet sand so my level of fitness is very good.............

any insight would be nice, im just inquiring as it would be nice to go far within as i would be dropping a professional sporting career for this- you may ask why the **** anyone would do that? well i hold my personal reasons largely relating to the opposition of the armed forces by selected immigrant minority groups in the uk, just one of the lesser reasons amongst many................

regards- C12
  2. The RN already has many water sports instructors and participants. Some of the older ones have even been known to go limp, :oops: those that do also usually blame it on the alcohol (Cos they know how to spell it).
  3. Would that be Peterborough-on-Sea?
  4. yeah- peterborough on sea! no i live in southern spain and check back there for a few weeks every now and again.........