Fitness In The Navy

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by El_Pongito, Apr 20, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Evening all, this is my first post here, so you'll have to bear with my newbieness (I think I just invented a new word!).

So, just to fill you gents in on my background before I fire my barrage of questions: I'm currently a 21 year old Electrician Driver in the TA (Basically the guy who repairs the generators and rewires everything when the kettle/TV breaks down in the field). My nautical experience basically amounts to taking the ferry to Ireland!

Anyways, I am seriously considering joining the Navy full time as an Engineering Technician (Marine Engineering). I was just wondering what kind of fitness standards there are in the Navy. The Navy's recruitment website seems to take a wide berth (no pun intended :roll: ) around the subject of fitness, so I thought it best to ask here.

The only time the website refers to ANY physical training at all is, "During the selection process you will also have to do a fitness test in which you have to complete a 2.4km run within a set time." I presume this is the same as the Army's physical test in which you have to do the 2.4km(1.5mi) in ten minutes, then a shedload of pushups and situps, right?

I wouldn't imagine the Navy has to perform loaded marches and assault courses, or am I wrong on this? Applicants are advised to do some phyical training before arriving at phase one training, so I would presume you get a beasting during training?