Fitness Help - Embarassing.

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by RhysHar, Jul 12, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Right, I have to be completely upfront and honest on this one.
    I'm 17, and I'm studying at Sixth Form. I have applied to join the Royal Navy as a Logistics Officer.

I have my medical on the 30th, and I've heard fitness is within 28 days of that.

I don't have any qualms about the medical, but I am very concerned about the fitness test. I cannot run 1.5 miles in 11 minutes and I'm actually nowhere near. I'm not fat, just particularly unfit for some reason.

Do I go speak to my CO and ask him to leave the test for a few months? Or do I risk it and hope for the best? Really stuck guys!
    • Like Like x 1
  2. That sounds like the very obvious answer, and believe me, I've tried. I just don't know how to break down the barrier my lungs are putting up every single time I run.
  3. Get a heart rate monitor and use it properly to train according to your fitness level. You can then train to what your heart is actually doing rather than what you think your lungs are telling you.
  4. What I usually do is just set the treadmill to 13.1KM/H and run for as long as I can. Am I doing it wrong? Any better suggestions?
  5. Obviously I don't know your background, but you sound a bit like you might not be 'School Sportsman of the Year'. If you are so out of breath, then maybe you need to learn to breath properly. I always hated running - as in running, not running around during a rugby match. I learnt to if not like, at least tolerate running by cracking the breathing.

For me it is/was - start running then breathing through the mouth, two breaths in and two breaths out. Sort of 'suck, suck, blow, blow......suck, suck, blow, blow' - the least you can do is give it a try. Just concentrate on the breathing until it becomes second nature.