Fishery Protection Squadron

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by gregleeds, Dec 21, 2011.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. So there's not much out the on the internet about the fishery protection squadron, apart from what they do generally. It something I could be interested in, just want to know if anyone knows anything about it?
    I think that the squadron is recruited from mine sweepers but I'm not sure how. Is there a certain period of employment or a test? What do the overall duties include? What is the normal working pattern? Usually 6-9 months away like everyone else? Is it competitive?
    I have a biology degree and stuff like this does interest me and I'm joining as a muppet so maybe this could be a route I take seriously.
    Like I said I really have no idea about any of this so I'm basically just asking for any information anyone knows?
    Thanks

2. I don't know much about modern FP craft but I did it on the Brave Swordsman where it's speed caught out a lot mostly French in the Channel.
    They were upset to say the least which worked for me.
    The other FP vessels were minelayers who had no hope of catching illegal vessels and the only biology we had was with the women ashore!
    One claimed his family had a charter, which he produced, from Charles 1st giving him rights to fish in UK waters.
    We took him in,off he went to court with his crew to claim his right,he lost,his gear was confiscated and we went around to his boat and looted several bottles of brandy,wine and whatever else he had in liquor.
    Entente Cordial! and Good luck anyway.

3. I was in the Fishery Protection Squadron. It's not just muppets. They only do inshore fishery protection. The OPV's i.e River Class do the main fishery protection working with DEFRA or whoever they are called now.