First time having rash/ dermatitis

So I had my over the phone medical today and I declared that I had a rash or dermatitis 10 weeks ago which I think I have developed at work. I currently work in a factory where there are two substances which my supervisor said is more than likely the cause. They are very irritant and he said that lots have people have had the same reaction. The nurse on the phone immediately flagged it up and asked to see my medical history but said don’t worry to much about it. It’s the first time I’ve ever had anything like this and since clearing it up I have not had it since. I’ve never been allergic to anything in my life and although I did get a rash I’m still in contact with the chemical and I remain clear. When the rash did start it was a very hot day and I wear several layers of PPE mainly around my arms/ wrists. I thought that putting tubi grip over the rash would help but I did not think about all that sweat would make it worse. I wasn’t going to declare it but I thought it’s for the best. My girlfriend also thinks it may have been to do with the soap powerder that she was using. I’m pushing 24 not and wanting to become a marine engineer. If I have to wait 3 years I wouldn’t be able apply for the same job as I would be to old. Any advice would be great on how to go forward as I don’t want to fall at the second hurdle. Thanks.

Last edited:
Be upfront at your medical.

From experience, I say; If it's something which is able to be cleared by creams / medications in the next short while before a potential start at raleigh, then don't hide it or try to mask it.

Your medical should be fine unless you've contracted aids or you crawl in with broken legs.

I have a seriously 'clicky' hip and also a funky rash type skin irritation on the inside of my thighs - which I treat with a steroid cream - THIS WAS ALL FINE.

Don't brick it and best of luck.