Field of view

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Roco, Apr 23, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. If I had a 40 degree field of view would I notice it? You may deduce from this that I don't think I have.

Thanks

2. Woopee f**king do
    What's that all about??

3. Thought it would be self explanitory,

If I had a 40 degree field of view would I notice it? You may deduce from this that I don't think I have. =

I've been told after medical I have a 40 degree field of vision (rather than the usual 180 degree). I don't think I do as it currently does not seem like I am looking through toilet roll tubes. Which I guess it would if I could only see 40 degrees.

4. My girlfriend's got 360 degree field of vision....swear she's got eyes in the back of her 'kin head!!! :evil:

5. 40 degrees is quite a big arc and all of your cones (the things that see colour) are in that arc so you might not think it's a big deal, especially if you've always had that field of view.

You can easily test your field of view by picking an object to stare straight at and then measure how far round you can see you finger. Keep the finger stationary for a bit at about 10 degree angles (it's much easier to see moving objects in peripheral vision) and see what you get.

If you want to get an idea how important peripheral vision is, try walking around with one eye closed. You'll notice that you get shocked by people walking up on that closed eye side. Try playing sports! It's nigh on impossible. I used to have a squint when I was younger and the docs fixed it using an eye patch that I had to wear every day. I was forever bumping into things.

6. 'Wider field of vision, clearer field of fire'.
    Maxim taught to me by my advanced driving instructor many moons ago; and still remembered, every single day!