Few questions on the RNR

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by jamieccfc, Mar 26, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm thinking of joining but need a few questions answered

Firstly, in the future is it possible to switch and join the RN full time ?

If I signed up next month how long does the training take to complete before they could deploy me ?

Could I do all training on weekends and not evenings ?

If I completed my training and volunteered to go away , what's the probability of getting deployed ?

I'm interested in joining and after all training is completed id like to be deployed for a few months

Thanks for any help

2. As always, I stand by to be corrected; this is based on my day-to-day knowledge of the RNR. I am not a recruiting expert.

As I understand it right now, being in the reserves makes no difference if you apply to join the regulars. You'll go through regular selection process just like everyone else. So yes, you CAN switch and go full-time, but it'd be just the same as someone else coming in who's not in the reserves. You'll get no dispensations or accelerated processing for being a reservist.

Depending on branch, allow four years upwards.

During basic training (i.e. up to a fortnight at HMS Raleigh), no. You'll need to come in for evenings.
    Once you're in branch, depending on your branch, it's much more feasible to do no branch training in unit and only do it on weekends and fortnights. Even at this point, you'll need to show your face in unit every so often, but certainly not necessarily every week.

Unless there's a massive change in the next few years, it's very nearly a certainty. You will go. Volunteering to go will be well-received, but not necessary; you will go.

Expect nine months. Often it's less, but expect nine.

3. Great info there thank you