Failed AIB - 12 months wait to retry

Spyrotpd

Midshipman
Hey guys,

So I've just come back from AIB. Was aiming to join as a Pilot but unfortunately I failed. Was told by the Lieutenant Commander that I was close to passing, and that they would like to see me back there in 12 months time. After 36 hours of self reflection I've noticed many areas where I can improve for next time round and will be soon having my full debrief at my local careers office in a few weeks, so it'll be great to find out where I went wrong in more detail.

I've been considering what to do in the meantime. I'm a graduate with a degree in Aerospace engineering, so not sure whether to begin a civilian career to sort of head start my Plan B. However, I'm not sure if this is the correct move as I don't want to lose focus on the dream of becoming a Naval Aviator and perhaps regretting it years down the line.
This got me thinking that surely it's worth joining the Naval Reserves to gain more exposure and experience in the Navy throughout this time. Not sure I'll be allowed to try for an Officer Reserve role though as I failed regular AIB.

Can anyone advise me on what to do here? Or if anyone has gone through a similar scenario, any advice would be most appreciated. :)
Cheers!
S P

Sumo

War Hero
Hey guys,

So I've just come back from AIB. Was aiming to join as a Pilot but unfortunately I failed. Was told by the Lieutenant Commander that I was close to passing, and that they would like to see me back there in 12 months time. After 36 hours of self reflection I've noticed many areas where I can improve for next time round and will be soon having my full debrief at my local careers office in a few weeks, so it'll be great to find out where I went wrong in more detail.