Eyesight after acceptance

Hi all,
I have a place at Dartmouth in the coming months as a pilot, I have passsed everything and am absolutely over the moon about it.
However in my eye tests I passed the required standards by the skin of my teeth. I am now slightly worried that a year or two into my training I will be grounded due to my eyesight having deteriorated, does anybody know if there are different standards once I have actually started my training.
Any help for anyone would be very much appreciated
Cheers
L

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
I'm not aware of any relaxation of the aircrew visual acuity standard for those serving, but there are periodic aviation medical examinations after you join.

Logically, for the amount of money invested in aircrew training, the entry standard is possibly higher than the CAA standard to allow for natural deterioration.

Hopefully @Pontius or @Magic_Mushroom can illuminate us with regard "in service" aircrew eyesight standards & procedures. I believe the medical standards applied come under RAF ownership.

As Ninja says, you will have an annual medical but this will not be in quite the same detail as your original one, no EEG for instance. Obviously your eyesight will be tested and you will still have to reach the required standard but once they've invested some money in you then you become more valuable and they become a little more 'flexible'. This does mean that you will be permitted to wear glasses and we had plenty of pilots who did, even on the SHAR i.e. not just helicopters. Clearly they are not going to allow prescriptions the size of milk bottle bottoms but I'm afraid I don't know how strong the correction can be. I also know nothing of the military's stance on laser correction.