EYE TEST

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by nj375, Aug 3, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am considering joining (as an officer) I have a masters degree, a levels etc. Have played sport at a national level and am 25... I have one problem ...my eyesight. I am blind in my left eye and wear a contact lense in the right. As it is blind from birth it doesn't affect me in everyday life in the slightest and no one ever knows I am blind in one eye until I tell them. Is there any chance I could join with this problem?

Look forward to hearing from you.
    NJ

2. Although Lord Nelson and Long John Silver, didn`t join up with the problem, they did rather well, don`t you think? :w00t:

3. Hi NJ,

I'm sorry to tell you that if you are blind in one eye they will not pass you at the medical stage of the selection into the RN.

Below I have copied the medical eligibility from the RN page I know it doesn't mention your condition, but having worked in recruiting for over 6 years, i know you will not get in.

Health