Ex RN questions

Discussion in 'RFA' started by kernowchris, Feb 11, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello. I served as a wafu for 5 years in the RN. Spent quite a bit of time on the Fort George and Vic. Enjoyed the RFA way of life. Sooo...I sent my application of last night for Comms rating and Motorman. I am an engineer on the outside so MM makes sense. Interested in the route to officer in the long run after reading about it on here.

Does anybody know if my previous service will count towards training etc? Did an apprenticeship. Just nervous that the starting pay is 14k and I will be on that for a couple of years. Have a mortgage etc so could be a deal breaker with the wife.

Thanks

Last edited: Feb 11, 2015
  2. Previous service means nothing, we currently have several ex stokers on course including a chief and we have to do it all, the only part you could miss is functional skills if you can prove you have done it within the last 5 years.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

3. How about pay?

Cheers

4. I'm on the old pay scale so it's completely different to the new intakes

5. Ok. Will see what they say. Still 4 on 3 off as far as you are aware??

6. As far as I'm aware the new apprentices don't get the 4-3, don't quote me but I think it's 7 days for every month

7. Seriously? Well that's the end of that then. No way would anyone work like that when the old contract guys get 4 on 3 off. That's a joke.

8. I was fortunate to get in the last intake on the old scale, I can see it putting a few people off, but if you can afford to hold out it will be worth it. Don't take my word as gospel tho, double check with recruitment

9. What do you mean hold on? Is it going to change?

10. No I mean do the 2 year apprenticeship, then you will upscale to mm1 pay scale