Ex-Army Officer thinking of joining RMR

Discussion in 'RMR' started by Welshcake, May 13, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a 31-year-old teacher, who previously spent 5 years in the Infantry serving in NI and Iraq. Having been out for almost 4 years I am enjoying civvie street, but still miss part of service life. I was thinking of joining my local RMR, and was wondering if anyone had any thoughts on:

1. If my age would be a problem - I know they say 32 is the limit, but is it longer for previous regular service?
    2. Has anyone come across and ex-Army bloke going to the RMR? Is it common?
    3. Would I have to go all the way through Phase 1 and 2, or would previous service count towards some of the basic training?

Any other thoughts or comments are greatly appreciated - thanks for your time.
  2. Hello mate

I can't help you completely as i've been out of the RMR since 1995 having served 5 years but;

1. With your previous military experience i would say go for it and i believe they will extend this at the C.O's discretion

2. If your an officer i can't help you but when lads from other ranks joined from the Army they had to start from the beginning at phase 1

Hope this helps. Or you could go and have a chat with your AFCO or just have a butchers at your local unit. Which unit are you interested in joining??

3. Many thanks for that - am closest to RMR Bristol. I'm happy to go through phase 1 and 2 again, but just wondered if it was a common thing with ex-Army joining up.
  4. I've met a few ex-army lads in RMR, and I know of at least one trained rank at RMR Bristol who was allowed to skip phase 1 because of his army experience. Hope that helps...