Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by Scorpio1986, Mar 4, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all.

I am currently arranging my transfer to the WE branch from REME. I am currently a REME CLass 1 tech Elec.

I was wondering if people could give me an insight into the POET course. Is it the same as the REME Tiffy Course?? Some general info from those that have done it would be helpful.

I am also told i would need to do a SRLC after the POETQC. I have read in the various spiels that you are required to do 40km in 48hours...carrying 30kg!!! I dont know about you but isnt this alot of weight, is this correct??

Any details of both courses would be helpful so i know what i am letting myself in for.

many thanks
  2. What, you will transfer straight in as a PO?

What is your sea experience?

What is your experience with naval equipment?

As for SRLC, have you don't LRLC?????
  3. I have been told i would do POETQC and SRLC followed by 18 months sea service, as long as i get recommendation to PO from WEO i would be promoted.

I may not have the sea or naval equipment experience, however i have done tours of Afghan, Iraq and Falklands to name a few. Im not some sprog walking off civvy street with no military and technical experience.
  4. Tours of Afghan and Falklands mean little on the blue crinkly stuff.

But maintain naval kit, living and breathing the navy, being a duty technical rating alongside etc. You will walk in as a killick on a fast track to PO???

As said, no offence.
  5. Funky, tiffs did that for years, no difference really.
  6. Well you are entitled to your opinion, proof will be in the pudding.