Engineering interest

Discussion in 'The Fleet' started by snapdragon, Aug 30, 2006.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi all. The guy at the AFCO said i should get a Haynes Manual and "pimp the car" to see if i like the kind of thing that stokers do... i think he mostly thought i wouldn't like getting greasy :roll: So, i have one, but are there any other books for total novices at this kind of thing? Any website recommendations i'd be grateful for too. You know, like Engines For Total Idiots or something.

2. If you can wait until tonight I shall ask the PO Stoker, although I can tell you that he loves tinkering with anything vaguely technical - computers, electrics, mechanics, plumbing etc. Are you that way inclined?

3. Yes, that'd be great, thanks! Yep, i do like having a tinker. The only reason i haven't taken the car apart is because i wouldn't be able to put it back together again and i need it. I always wanted to be a car mechanic until i was about 15, when i wanted to be a car mechanic and in the Navy :)
    I like computers, have minimal electronic skills (GCSE electronics: grade E!) and haven't really had opportunity to try anything with mechanics other than titting around with Mechano 'til i was too old to. I applied for a plumbing course once :)
    Basically, i am very interested in this trade but know nothing about the kind of things i'd have to do. I want to show that i can do the job and not be at a huge disadvantage if i do get the opportunity to do it.

4. Drink lots of beer, eat lots of pizza and hump ugly old birds and you will be fully qualified to be a stoker.
    Oh yeah, and maybe some gash tatoos as well.........

5. You will also need rank Epaulettes with Velcro, because you will be busted on a regular basis!

6. FlagWagger

FlagWagger Book Reviewer