Engineer Officer roles - any STEM degree now considered?

During a quick glance at the AE, ME and WE pages on the official site today, I note that:

"All Science, Technology, Engineering and Maths (STEM) degrees will be considered"

When did this change? It always used to be that you needed at least a BSc/BEng with significant maths content (maths/physics/engineering) to fulfil the requirements for the accrediting body for chartership.

Does this mean Joe Bloggs with a 2:2 Marine Biology degree could hypothetically be an RN engineer? Or is there some form of degree assessment, with maths content still being a requirement? @Ninja_Stoker

Engineers by trade should be able to do sums, the Engineering Institutes insist that must have a level of competency at maths, stands to reason that RN engineers should also be competent at maths.

Engineers by trade should be able to do sums, the Engineering Institutes insist that must have a level of competency at maths, stands to reason that RN engineers should also be competent at maths.
Which was curious when on Mech's course we were being 'taught' Level 3 (quite advanced) by a geography graduate. After complaints, we eventually got Taff the Graph. Still hate maths though.

Seadog

War Hero
For the OP, a marine biology degree will not meet the educational requirements for IEng or CEng. Which is what -I reckon - Sumo is saying.

Agreed.

My issue is the info on the website WAS clear (i.e. degrees accredited by engineering council only) until very recently, and is now ambiguous - as, I'm sure you know, STEM encompasses all sorts of subjects from astronomy to my rather ridiculous example of Marine Biology.

So, I wondered if there had been a recent policy change to the educational criteria to warrant any change on the website, otherwise what was the point in doing so?

From the Engineering Council: