Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by catton01, Jan 5, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Pretty new too the site but i've been having a good rumage around and now comes time to ask a question.

I'm looking to join the navy in the very near future, and will be going to collect an application form tomorrow, and i know there is medical checks.

About 6 months ago i had some deaths in my immediate family. I sort of figured well obviously due to the circumstances i would feel upset. But along i went to the doctors after constant nagging from the girlfriend and he basically said this could be minor depression. I never went to any councilling or had any treatment at all, just that one chat with the doctor.

Would this hinder my joining process at all? Medical wise?

Any replies Appreciated.

2. Im no expert mate but I got denied through "delibrate self harm" which I was paraletic so not sure about "deliberate" but some big headed nob heads will soon tell you, even though many are civvies again themselfs after retiring and still make out they are this that the other, best bet is to go your local AFCO and find out cos most do not know their head from their ********* on here mate x
  3. Remember that anything from almost nothing to nothing can be relied upon in the way of medical advice from this, or any other, web based forum. Nothing can you can write down can give any responder the insight that your medical records and a chat with the medical doc can give.

That aside, here's some brief general information.

The diagnosis of "mild depression" is one that almost every person could have been given at some point in their life if every moment in our lives were documented by a medical practitioner. The fact that you were given no medication and required no counciling is a sign that you had a normal reaction to the death of a family member.