Degree???

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by woody28, Sep 15, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi shipmates,

Here's another one...
    I am currently studying A level Maths, Physics, Geography and a Subsidiary Diploma in ICT at college and I have a goal of becoming a Warfare Officer or a Pilot Officer within the Senior Service. I am already in the reserves so I am looking at possibly progressing in that and then transferring to the regs, HOWEVER, I am unsure whether or not a degree would be at all useful? I do not have a desired area of study and I cannot see something like an Engineering Bsc helping me as a WO/Pilot. I cannot see myself doing Maths or Physics at degree either so... would it be more useful to attempt entering the Wardroom at 17/18 or would Uni be extremely helpful. (I do not particularly have a strong desire to study at uni and want to become trained strength and serve ASAP)

Thanks!
    WOODY

2. Maybe a bit of research first, all our Pilots are Officers, the RAF have "Pilot Officers" (rank).

I believe its all done on points, an oppo of mine had enough points from his A levels and the degree didnt add much to the mix. I'm sure Ninja knows the full story here.

3. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

I'd advise you carry on with your academics & apply for Officer now, pending completion of your A Levels so there's a job waiting for you or the option to continue with your education if not successful.

For Aircrew and indeed Warfare, the earlier you join, the better your career "promotional pinnacle" prospects.

If you do not make the grade for selection at age 18, crack on with Uni. You are advised to undertake a vocational degree useful for a service career or a civilian career. Re-apply again in the second year of your degree.