DE Warfare Officer

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Colin747, Dec 23, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. 1. Would anyone here be able to give me more detailed information on what you do as a Warfare Officer, i have read the careers info in the RN site, but would like more detailed info.(i would be looking to be General Service)

2. I assume as i am a direct entry that i will be a midshipman at BRNA, the RN site says that promotion to Lieutentant is automatic, does this mean after BRNA or does it mean after Fleet time training?

3. Roughly how often do you go on long tours i.e 6 months +.
  2. silverfox

silverfox War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

What more details would you like? Deployments depend upon ship's programmes but a good ball park figure is one deployment per 18 months.
  3. What you actully do on a day-to-day basis.
  4. Where's your sense of adventure? Join up and find out.
  5. What about number two then, its the one thats annoying me.
  6. Download pdf file on Warfare from HERE. It tells you that during Fleet training time you will be studying for your Fleet Board examination, whatever that is.

By the way, when I put Warfare Officer into the RN site search box I got 1153 hits ordered 8 to a page across 116 pages. Check it out, it has notes from officers serving on ships, news items, training, etc.
  7. Heads up its Britannia Royal Naval College, not Academy, not like the perceys!
  8. silverfox

listen to wise old people like HB...
  9. Hi
    As far as i understand it, if you don't have a degree upon entry to BRNC you will be Midshipman, and if you pass BRNC upon exit you are promoted to Sub lieutenant.

If you have a degree upon entry you are Sub-Lieutenant, upon passing out you are promoted to Lieutenant.

Anyone feel free to correct me if i'm wrong.