CT, is it the way forward?

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by READYROB8405, Jan 9, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hi GuyS

Ex LMA of 9 years service here, i left in Sept 2012 and i am currently studying 2nd year BA International relations degree, which is going well. However, i am becoming a bit threaders with some of the civil opportunities after my degree and wish to restart my military career in a better vein...Not looking at officer as I will be too old for warfare and Logs doesn't appeal to me.

I looked at CT before i left as i wanted to do something more Intel /current affairs based, but i was more concerned with sorting out my education. Also, spending most of my time with the RM i had no idea that CT actually existed!!

Key things i would like to know are:

• Career progression...is it still a technical branch?
    • Opportunities for land and sea deployments...equal or baised towards sea etc?
    • chances of SM Service ( i was an MA(SM) for my first two years before i went Green for 6) and i am not adverse to serving on boats again!.

And finally, information from career managers about my previous service and whether my LRCC for example, still stand or would i have to redo it etc. I am not fussed, but I would like to know if i have to have fun at the RN leadership school again!! :p

PM's would be ideal, as i would prefer to hear the gen from serving CT's.

Any grief will be well received as well! :)

I now await incoming !!
  2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Ooh, a chance to give grief. Ta.

In case you weren't aware, there are Royal Marine Comms Techs too (no, not the Tels Techs, Comms Techs - same course as the RN ones) , if you're sold on the "green thing" and fancy a stint with 30 Cdo.