Navy Net - Royal Navy Community

Register a free account today to become a member! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Considering attempting to transfer X(GS)

Sogz

Midshipman
Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster. (I think, I've not been on the site for about a year or so)

I'm currently a volunteer for Warfare Officer (Submarines) and Submarine course is beginning to loom on the horizon, bar a few Surface courses I need to get out of the way. However, I'm starting to have doubts about whether or not the Submarine Service is for me. I've met a few submariners recently and the more I hear about the job the more it sounds like a day or two of quite interesting, crunchy warfare stuff followed by sleeping in somebody else's bed and getting fisted (figuratively). On the other hand, I've thoroughly enjoyed my time as a 2OOW on surface ships and am starting to think 'I really enjoy this job, I won't know if I enjoy submarines until the door is already pretty much closed and locked behind me, instead of the gamble why not transfer and stick with a job I know I enjoy?' (I appreciate that the likelihood of my transfer being approved is low.)

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

fishhead

War Hero