Considering attempting to transfer X(GS)

Discussion in 'Submariners' started by Sogz, Sep 7, 2015.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all, long time lurker, first time poster. (I think, I've not been on the site for about a year or so)

I'm currently a volunteer for Warfare Officer (Submarines) and Submarine course is beginning to loom on the horizon, bar a few Surface courses I need to get out of the way. However, I'm starting to have doubts about whether or not the Submarine Service is for me. I've met a few submariners recently and the more I hear about the job the more it sounds like a day or two of quite interesting, crunchy warfare stuff followed by sleeping in somebody else's bed and getting fisted (figuratively). On the other hand, I've thoroughly enjoyed my time as a 2OOW on surface ships and am starting to think 'I really enjoy this job, I won't know if I enjoy submarines until the door is already pretty much closed and locked behind me, instead of the gamble why not transfer and stick with a job I know I enjoy?' (I appreciate that the likelihood of my transfer being approved is low.)

Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated.

2. It's not unusual to get cold feet over a decision you made when you may not have been in possession of all the facts. Having said that it is not always the best thing to make decisions based on other peoples "dits". Submarines are complex fascinating pieces of kit but they definitely aren't to everyone's taste. My advice(for what it's worth) is to press on and base your decisions on personal experience. Once you get to sea on a boat you have about three months to complete a task book followed by a test. Failure to complete the book and failure of the test would probably send you back to surface ships anyway but if the life in boats suits you may never want to go back.