Compulsary Boat Safety Awareness Needed?

Discussion in 'Current Affairs' started by trelawney126, Aug 13, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. No; it’s one of the few freedoms we have left. Just hit silly buggers hard with the legislation already in place.
  2. sgtpepperband

sgtpepperband War Hero Moderator Book Reviewer

I am an RYA-qualified powerboat instructor, and have seen many people try to drive boats in a reckless manner. However the RYA policy is that by over-legislating this sport, it will turn people away from the idea of taking a boat out on the water. The RYA promotes education, rather than legislation. And let's not forget - the large majority of boat users (experienced or otherwise) do so safely and conscienciously; it is the stupid minority who use boats like the guy in the video...

Anyway, perhaps he should've used this device to get his boat back..? :wink:
  3. In Spain every boat, even the smallest, must be registered. All must have insurance, and everyone driving the boat must have the necessary qualifications, depending on the type. There are strict limitations as to what can be done with different types of craft. In addition the seas and rivers are fully patrolled by the large fleet of Guardia Civil craft. These police have the power to fine, confiscate, and take breath tests from those suspected of drinking and sailing (the same lower than the UK limit as driving).
    Yet, thousands of people take to the water and none of the above seems to hamper their enjoyment.
    In the UK anyone with the means and irrespective of their level of skill can take to the waters. I wonder if this is a situation that will be allowed to continue.