Chances of Getting Officer

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by IconicBuck, Aug 19, 2012.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Just a general sum up ,im 16 just finished my GCSE's ( i get results on the 23rd ) hopefully i can get the grades and move onto A levels , but the thing is I'm not a A* or A student more of a B or C but i enjoy what im good at, my school does CCF and I'm a petty officer cadet in that (highest rank throughout the section NCO) and the officer in charge says id make a great officer in the navy, but he doesn't know me on a educational bases just CCF.
    My math is C ( did foundation ) level im not terrible just takes me a while to get the answer my english is standard. so is my science but subjects like DT ( hands on subjects ) im good at predicted a A* in that , im also into navy camps and course went on a summer one recently joint with ccf army sections and loved every second of it even the banter, adventure camps and leadership course are some things i want to do ( would that make up for a lack of high level education)

BASICALLY what im trying to say, its there a chance for someone who mite not be amazingly good at the sit down at a desk and do sums and essays all day but instead makes up for that lack on the practical side.

im going on the 22nd for my ICP and ill mention this to a officer there no doubt i just wanna get peoples opinions here as people have actually been in the servers here.

( New to the website )

2. Best concentrate on improving your educational qualifications, especially English has a (capital letter as does I when being used as I am etc). The word wanna does not exist, work hard and you may attain the A levels required.
    Royal Naval officer is not for everyone, the RN want the best so set the standards to try and obtain that.