Career change. Mechanic to Royal Navy. Thoughts?

Hi guys,
My name is Andrew and I’m 26, I have recently begun deliberating joining the RN as an engineer. I am very curious about the navy lifestyle and the usual questions about time away. I have recently seen a Job role for a direct entry petty officer which sounds fantastic and could possibly be a good career change for me,not to sound like I’m blowing my own trumpet but I do see myself as a leader, in my current role as a technician I manage another technicians day to day workload and tasks.
I love what I do but I feel like that I could be doing so much more as a person. My job pays great and the staff are fantastic so I’m not considering this for a bad reason!

Can anyone give some insight into the navy lifestyle? I have a partner and I’m not sure how confident she would be with me joining. Any help would be appreciated!

Cheers,
Andrew

Ninja_Stoker

War Hero
Assuming you've read the thread on the depot scheme, probably the best guys to ask are @Hooly & @Richbomber as they came across from the Army and will no doubt have a different view of daily life in the Navy as compared to those of us who have less experience elsewhere and just take things for granted.

Undoubtedly your biggest step change will be separation and communications home. Possibly longer hours (without overtime) and a longer working week. Travel costs will also be a significant consideration if your partner intends remaining in your home town (assuming your hometown isn't Plymouth, Portsmouth or Helensborogh).