Buying my officer's No 1 uniform

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by NautiusMaximus, May 30, 2008.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Having just got into the RNR as an officer, I need to get my No 1 uniform. I'm based in London, and I gather Gieves & Hawkes do a nice line in uniforms. That would certainly be handy, but fearsomely expensive, and the grant which apparently I might get one day if I'm lucky won't come close to covering it.

Alternatively I could take a trip down to Pompey (less convenient) and go to somewhere like Baun & Co, which I gather is a lot cheaper. Would I end up with a significantly less good uniform by doing that? If so, in what way?

Any other suggestions for getting one?

And is it really necessary to have a No 2 uniform as well, or can I get by without one?

2. Try HMS Nelson Wardroom, I beleive they hold a selection of 2nd hand Uniforms that those departing offer for sale, top quality, but not brand new.

3. Phone Uniform Clothing Stores in NELSON - they'll put you in contact with whichever tailor they're using at the mo. It used to be Turner & Virr, based in Fareham, but not sure if they still have the contract. As a regular I don't pay for mine (ha ha!!!) but have seen the price list and seems pretty reasonable for what is essentially a tailored suit.

4. You could always try eBay - there're always a few going in one size or another. Seller by the moniker of Hogspear also has a few items also which usually appear to be in fairly good nick.
    Otherwise ask at your unit - I know that at Calliope some secondhand 1s were advertised at a fairly reasonable rate by a retiring RNR officer.

5. wave_dodger

wave_dodger War Hero Book Reviewer

Hmm I have two sets of 5's for sale - my old S/Lt RNR one's and a set laced as RN Lt - depends on what size you are, lacing you can get done in lots of places.