Buying Life Insurance before joining...

Oasis22

Hi Everyone,

I am considering purchasing life insurance, I am 19 at present and awaiting an entry date for Naval Service.

If anyone could assist me in this - is it be worth purchasing life insurance now as a civillian, knowing I would later be declaring a change of occupation to military, therefore increasing the premiums? Would it be worth me securing a policy now or waiting until I am confirmed in the Royal Navy before purchasing military life insurance?

Thanks for your help in advance!

Alfacharlie

War Hero
I'm no expert, but I reckon you'd have to tell them anyway, as your policy maybe void if you did need it.

I maybe wrong, but this what I have to do with my policies, notifying of any changes.

Waspie

War Hero
Firstly, go see an independent financial advisor, your bank or building society should offer the consultation free. In fact not just one but a few so you can see what is being offered. Discuss your situation, go in heavy on the joining the services bit. There used to be a 'loading' applied to some service occupations. (I know mine was), by some 114%), albeit 75% returned from the military.
It's not straight forward or cut and dry. To be honest, I would wait until you join then look at it again. These days, in my personal experience as a policy holder and as an ex, (long time ago), financial advisor in a high street bank. Ins Companies will look for any discrepancy to cancel a policy. Not telling you until claim time!!
It's a mine field. Good luck.

Waspie

War Hero
As an aside. Two occupation that were very high risk. POA if humans were cars!!!
JCB operators and Pub Landlords!!!!
Funny how stupid facts stay dormant!!!!

Alfacharlie

War Hero
As an aside. Two occupation that were very high risk. POA if humans were cars!!!
JCB operators and Pub Landlords!!!!
Funny how stupid facts stay dormant!!!!
Ha. My liability insurance for running a roofing business is bad enough!