Burning Questions

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by wolriddle, Jan 29, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all!
    I have my sift interview in a couple of weeks, and i think im almost ready just a few burning questions i cant seem to find, so hopefully someone can help!:
    Im hoping to go in as a non graduate officer, what will be my rank upon passing out at BRNC, going for pilot when would i reach the pilot officer?
    Will i need to know about the different radar/sonar used, if so which websites are reliable for this (I dont like believeing wiki)?
    Current affairs, if i have some depth of knowledge in current developments in Mali, Afghan, what other events should I look at?
    I did do a search for each, hopefully im not asking a preanswered question:withstupid:

Last edited: Jan 29, 2013
  2. Your rank on passing out will be midshipman. In terms of the radar and sonar, I would try to focus more on whole ship capabilities and the 'type' of equipment that enables them. The RN website should cover the depth required. If you want more info or have any q's give me a pm.

3. Welcome to Rum Ration.

Which newspapers do you read on a daily basis?

4. Buy the week & economist, they contain pertinent information and people's opinions.

• Like Like x 2
  5. You will only reach Pilot Officer when you pass out of the Crabs.

You will pass out of BRNC as a Naval Officer!

PS

Maybe a tad more revision needed on naval ranks.

6. I read the telegraph daily, totally agree r.e the ranks comment!

7. Any of the broad sheets are good.

You really need to know the rank structure. You will also need a better than average knowledge of all current weapons systems and there associated radars and sonars. Include aircraft too! Present and future.