BTEC National Diploma

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Lloyd245, Jun 9, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently studying a BTEC National Diploma IT Practitioners (a computer technical subject with some business), along with a CISCO CCNA Networking Qualfication (not sure if this counts for anything). At the end of the course I should come out with 360 UCAS points. I fulfill all the GCSE requirements, and I'm going to study computer based degree at university after I've finished my course.

My question is, do you think the BTEC National Diploma will be accepted if I want to join the RN as an Officer? I heard that only 2 A Levels (or equivalent) are accepted in 2 non-overlapping subjects :(.
  2. i belive that a BTEC diplmoa should count but check with the AFCO i mean the qualification is higher than an A level right?
  3. No, I think its an equivalent
  4. Why not wait until someone who KNOWS the answer responds?
    Though a BTEC may be regarded as superior to A levels for some jobs, this may or may not be the case for RN occifer acceptance.

If you do not know the answer.........ZIP IT! :twisted:
  5. I take it you mean a BTEC HND, not an OND?

Edited to add BTEC level 4 maths is A level equivalent IIRC (HND/HNC level maths)
  6. Hmm, I'm pretty sure that a HND is more of a foundation degree rather than an A Level. :?
  7. As I said, depends what level you take in the maths module
  8. Is it the BTEC National Diploma? When I spoke to the AFCO a while back when I was still at college, they just said that it goes on a case by case basis for them, with the IT one I would imagine that you would be fine as it is very academic as well as practical, unlike alot of the diplomas like fine art! Worth getting in touch anyhow and asking :)