Branch Transfer to Phot

Discussion in 'The Quarterdeck' started by Pigbum, May 18, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am currently a Writer - sorry - Logistician Personel, and I am about to put in my manning request to branch transfer to Phot, I was wondering of there are any Phots that post on here?

2. Go for it. When you leave go into the business of wedding phots, they earn a fortune!!

I guess that the promotion might be slow, but that can be a sign that those phots love their job and therefore don't want to leave.

3. It's a long time since I left, however the Phot branch did very well for themselves, never seemed to be on divisions, well only a token photographer. Didn't see many on the duty list either. Go for it.

4. I tried going phot, went through the process, interviews and was accepted, after having hte clearance to transfer from my trade (UW). A week before I was supposed to transfer, the MOD had a lovely change of heart and said I couldn't go!

It's a very good career, once in the promotion isn't as slow as you think. You can eitehr chose media or intelligence. If you want a jolly, go media! Those lovely RNP's like to ping you for 'forensic' type pics too at times.

Not sure if you get a choice of which way you want to go in the phot branch these days but it's good.

Good career when you leave, not so sure about the wedding, yes they pay good but it's boring and really only brings in dosh in the summer. Building your own career once out can be very slow, until you get a good name but once you are tehre, WOW!

Good luck!