boxing in the navy

got my AIB in march, hopefulyl going as a warfare officer, i was wondering, as i box, how it works in the navy, my mate frm my gym who joined the army does it regular and says he spends most of his time in a tracksuit, how does it work in the navy, ie if your on a ship or a boat i dont see much opportunity for training

also looking at form q101, it asks why do i want to become an officer in the rn/rm

im looking at putting, "different line of work with a positive future, good pay, what i imagine to be a great lifestyle"

"lots of oppertunites to take part in sports"

"see new places, meet new people"

all that sort of stuff, what did other guys put

Most ships have a Physical Training Instructor embarked and circuit training is usually a daily occurence (weather permitting).

Ships usually have some sort of multi-gym and free weights too.

I can't comment on a boxing-specific training regime but if you speak to your PTI about your training needs I'm sure they'll help you achieve your potential.

There's a dit about the Navy's boxing squad in the Dockyard Dandy here:

Navy News

I'd be up for boxing too, it the abscence of the Thai kind.

As for what to put in your reasons, i believe steering clear of the 'for queen and country' line would be good. It's a common pitfall i think. Although to be fair, it is Her Majesty's Service and we want to do her proud!

heres what i put

"im looking for a different line of work with a positive future, good pay and benefits as well as an opportunity to travel and take part in sport. Also a career in the armed forces appeals to me as i think i would be making a difference."

ohaire said:
heres what i put

"im looking for a different line of work with a positive future, good pay and benefits as well as an opportunity to travel and take part in sport. Also a career in the armed forces appeals to me as i think i would be making a difference."