Bomber shot down over Pompey Harbour !! Gen Dit

Discussion in 'History' started by Kin_Student, Feb 19, 2010.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello,
    Straight away let me apologise for the sexed up title which could mislead folks to click on my post for breaking news on some AQ attack on Paulsgrove. I did however not want this first post to slip under the radar without some Historical genius that i hope lurks around here casting their expert eye over it first .

I am a 3rd Year GIS student and for my dissertation i am mapping the bombing of Portsmouth during WW2 and comparing this data to a Luftwaffe crew map that came into my possession by way of my ninja grandfather who took it from the fella he shot down from Whale Island.

My problem is , i am trying to find records of the bugger he shot down for authenticity and so far have advanced no further than an asthmatic ant with some heavy shopping. Details are sketchy , its believed it was 1941, the aircraft was a Dornier and it came to rest on the mudflats. Unfortunately the old boy died before i was born and this mini legend has been passed on by my dad(along with the map,cheers pops).

Would some of the older and bolder be able to throw any light on this or maybe point me in the right direction as to how to find out ? So far everyone i have asked including Royal Navy Museum, English Heritage, Pompey Council have scratched their heads and came up with Foxtrot Alpha.

Gents , any help would be much appreciated
    Kin Student
  2. Can't help with your query I'm afraid, but just love your signature! :lol:

3. Any dates ? Portsmouth Record Office might be worth a shout.
  4. Ohhh! THAT sort of bomber - when I saw the title, I thought you meant one of those big black things from Faslane! :wink: