Blue or Green?

Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by Rich1, Jan 14, 2009.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I've been looking into the idea of being a reservist for a while and was aiming at the RMR. Been to an acquaint evening and have psych test booked for a couple of weeks. Was attracted because of the phys side of it - my day job is quite sedentary so I thought something a bit full on would be good for me in a reserve occupation.
    But.....I then started to hear about the RNR and realised that there was a lot to it that really interested me. There just seem to be a huge number of options there and when I went to my acquaint evening I was impressed by the RNR guys I saw.
    I'm interested in the RNR officer DE route because I think I would be able to benefit from the training and bring my civvy career to bear; I'm 29 so am knocking on a bit and really want to get cracking. I'm thinking of going to an RNR acquaint evening next week - does anyone have any advice for me? Should I go back to the AFCO and cancel the psych test or am I better to stay put and be RMR? Please help!

2. What area of the country are you in and what is your civvie job?

3. You'll still need to do the RT test whatever job you go for, so you may as well keep the appointment.

Yes go along to the evening at the RNR unit,mthat will hopefully give you a good idea what is on offer from them.

The RMR will definately give you a lot more physical life style than the RNR.

Supermario

:nemo:

4. I'm in the Midlands and own a recruitment business so I've spent a lot of time managing people - I know it's totally different in a military environment but I feel I still have a lot to offer.

Hear what you say re phys and RMR but am just beginning to feel that the leadership option is more open to me with the RNR and there is a lot of diversity as to branch etc.