Bit of advice..?

Discussion in 'RMR' started by brick26, Mar 9, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I am a university student who is graduating this summer and have been intent on joining the TA for quite a while, but have recently been considering the RMR. I have always wanted to join TA Infantry so am just looking for a bit of info. It seems initial training is alot longer and much more demanding but how does the RMR differ to that of a TA infantry reg, training etc. how different is life in general in RMR compared to TA.

I have read RMR web site and read a few threads here.

Just to note I have been in UOTC for two years so do have a bit of experience.

Cheers.

2. There is no difference other than the fact that you will serve at sea in the RMR. Your better off deciding what you can get out of the reserve services before you make your choice. (look at all the options open to you)

3. pjmliverpool "No difference" have you been in the RMR.

The RMR prides itself on being one of the best reserve forces out there. This is why the training takes so long.

:evil:

4. I wold have thought that there would have been some differences?

5. From what i hear theres a HUGE difference.
    (please correct me if i'm wrong)
    I hear the basic training for the T.A is about 5 Weeks.
    The Basic Training for the marines is a lot longer like 12 - 14 months and even then they have more training before they can be operational within a troop.

Also as i believe if you are in the T.A. You are practically forced to be mobilised. Whereas in the RMR they ask for volunteers first.

Lets face it, if you were going to war? who would you want watching your Back? A Reservist Royal Marines Commando. or a T.A Soldier....??

I Know which i'd choose anyday... They aint got the commando status for nothing....