Big strong and fit people needed

I am currently in training for the AIB- both mentally and physically. I have got the mental side covered I hope!
I am however hoping that some burley rugged man, preferably handsome, would be able to give me some advice on the best way to increase my fitness levels in 8 weeks.
Am I being unrealistic on how much I can achieve in only 2 months??
I am currently hitting 8ish on the multi-stage fitness test but would like to make sure I get comfortably into the nines.
I have a gym membership BUT find that no matter how long I run on the treadmill as soon as I do any road running the prep seems to have been fruitless.
Any suggestions on the best way to increase your VO2 max?? I was told that the best way is to drop some weight!

Thanks
Laura

Lol, what does handsome have to do with advice?

You're not gonna see the face of the bloke who replies! lol

Anyway - Not that I'm a fitness expert, but HIIT is a good way to get you super-fit. Especially on roads that tend to go up and down instead of straight!

I must say your initial 'Big' photo was much better than the shrunken down one you've now edited in... now you can barely see it! :wink:

persona_non_grata

Lantern Swinger
Laura,

A training programme can be found on the BRNC website in the Pre-joining info section, if you haven't already tried it it's at: BRNC pre-joining fitness programme.
Alternatively try and get your hands on a book similar to this.

Aside from that I find climbing to be quite a good way on building up stamina and general fitness, plus I would suggest running on the roads to be better than running on the treadmill (just not all the time).

Otherwise, have a look on ARRSE; plenty of threads all over the place there, though there may be something useful in the Booty sections of RR.
Can't really properly suggest any more as I'm not doing anything like that yet.

PNG

creddly said:
Lol, what does handsome have to do with advice?