Best time for an AIB whilst at University

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by Tomahawk, Apr 15, 2013.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently in my 2nd year at university (coming to the end of 2nd year that is) and I'm undergoing the recruitment process for Warfare Officer. I was declared TMU in Jan of this year and I've been working to correct the issue, which is now sorted. The question I have is the timing for the rest of the process. I'm wanting to time it so that I go to my AIB and if I manage to pass it, I can make the most of the year it is valid for. Ideally I'd want a Feb AIB date so if I passed it, I'd be eligible for entry into BRNC for the Sept, Nov 2014 and Feb 2015 intakes, is this the best way to go about it?

Thanks

2. Any guidance at all?

3. That sounds like a reasonable plan, Tomahawk.

Suggest asking for a Sift Interview which is in early January, before you go back to University. That way, you have your Christmas hols to polish up your knowledge while polishing off the odd mince pie.

The rationale behind that suggestion is that you can build up your preparation during termtime and be ready for your Sift at the end of the hols.

PS Bear in mind the validity of other things too eg RT score, Fitness, Medical etc.

PS Ask about going on a Potential Officer course.

Last edited: Apr 18, 2013
  4. Ok, that's great. So if I go for SIFT early Jan, working backwards, should that be Fitness Test November/early December and so Medical late September, early October?

What stage should I do that at? My application is currently suspended, based on my TMU so I'm guessing I'd need the re-Medical before going on the Potential Officers course?

5. Tomahawk