Before entering the officer selection process

Discussion in 'Joining Up - Royal Navy Recruiting' started by harris6332, Apr 8, 2014.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. I'm currently in my first year of a degree, and only recently begun to develop an interest in joining the Royal Navy as an officer. I've read through the forums and gained information about the Interview Boards, Britannia, etc... but I was wondering if anyone had any ideas of things that I could be doing now, so that in two years time I will be going into the process in a strong position. You have the obvious things: Getting fit, completing your degree, etc... but I didn't know if there were any skills, qualifications, and the like, that could be gained over the next two and a bit years that would stand me in good stead. Cheers in advance for the replies

2. Ninja_Stoker

Ninja_Stoker War Hero Moderator

Try to involve yourself in clubs and societies that will add to your leadership potential and enhance your cv beyond just the academic aspect. Joining the Uni Officer Cadets or volunteering to work with local cadet units as an adult can certainly give a good insight and provide leadership opportunities. Duke of Edinburgh awards are excellent, making yourself financially independent with a part time job is useful, captaining sports teams, joining debating societies, student union, etc, all good.

3. Welcome to Rum Ration, Harris6332.

Which subject are you studying at Uni?

Do you already have a particular Officer role in mind?

4. This might help if your thinking of officer aircrew!!!

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 5
  5. Be yourself.

6. Thank you already for the suggestions

I'm studying History and Politics at Uni, and at the moment I was probably looking towards Warfare Officer

7. JCT

JCT Badgeman