Discussion in 'Royal Naval Reserve (RNR)' started by gunnjen, Nov 5, 2007.

Welcome to the Navy Net aka Rum Ration

The UK's largest and busiest UNofficial RN website.

The heart of the site is the forum area, including:

1. Hello all,

If any of this is operationally sensitive, please forgive me I'm a newbie and just simply don't answer, delete or reproach me!

Looking for some answers as I can't seem to get clear facts from my unit - the AWFP (formerly known as GSSR):

1) Is this a role just reserved for SPO teams on merchant vessels?
    2)Are we likely to be in Iraq or Afgahnistan supporting the soldiers?
    3)If answer to 2) is yes, will we get further infantry like training?
    4)Is this role likely to evolve into a more infantry type role, if so are there projections as to when?
    5)Can we go on "all arms commando" courses - if so probably condensed reservist based ones?

Thanks a lot
  2. I cant believe that you cannot get a clear answer to any of the questions you have stated in your post from members of the AWFP branch within your unit.

I would be interested to know which unit and region you are from. If you PM me I can discuss some of the specifics you might want to know or at least point you in the right direction....!
  3. I think you have the jist if what you can expect.
    Other branches are available, just suppressed by the people with CS95 fetish.
  4. Hmm...bit of angst towards AWFP me thinks!
  6. FlagWagger

FlagWagger Book Reviewer

Formatting tidied up for clarity

From my own past experience, if COMMARES had a positive communications policy, rumour and scuttlebutt wouldn't be such a problem!
  7. From my experience, I would suggest it isnt COMMARRES that starts the rumours
  8. "From my experience, I would suggest it isnt COMMARRES that starts the rumours "

But it doesnt do anything to stop them!
  9. Nature of rumours though. Damned if you do, damned if you don't.